Statement of Solidarity

The University of Evansville Board of Trustees affirms its commitment to develop and cultivate campus climates that support and welcome the diversity and inclusivity of our modern, pluralistic society. As a university which thrives on excellence and innovation, our academic communities support critical inquiry, free expression, and diverse opinions. We depend on the contributions of a diverse community as we face the challenges around us. We advocate a culture that promotes diversity and inclusion in all its forms and we challenge that which silences and threatens members of our campus and the local community.

Accordingly, we strongly condemn intolerance and hateful expressions on our campus and in our broader communities. We share the publicly expressed sentiments of our faculty and administrative and staff leaders, by our campus president, and by the leadership of the Indiana Conference of the Methodist Church that supports the importance of civil, respectful modes of discourse. The University of Evansville was founded 1854 as Moore's Hill Male and Female Collegiate Institute in the town of Moore's Hill in Dearborn County in southeastern Indiana. The university has since envisioned integrative learning that emphasizes connections within and between general education and the major course of study and that brings together diverse experiences from campus, community, and the larger world. The University will continue to reflect its commitment to diversity by recruiting a student body that echoes and respects differences of all people. That core principle has not changed; rather, it has expanded to include an enriching variety of individuals and cultures. We reaffirm that principle and call upon all members of the UE community to conduct themselves with civility, tolerance, and respect for the diversity of people and ideas.

This policy was drafted upon review of published statements of solidarity from Loyola University, Rutgers University and the University of Missouri.