Facts and Traditions

Senior Administrative Team

Tom Kazee

Dr. Tom Kazee

Olmsted Hall 201

Jack Barner

Mr. Jack Barner

Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations
Igleheart Bldg.

Dana Clayton

Dr. Dana Clayton

Vice President Student Affairs/Dean of Students
University Center 230A

Shane Davidson

Dr. Shane Davidson

Vice President/Enrollment Services

Phil Gerhart

Dr. Phil Gerhart

Dean/Engineering and Computer Science
Koch Center 250A

Philip M. Gerhart holds a B.S.M.E. from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is a registered professional engineer in Indiana and Ohio.|He was a professor of Mechanical engineering at the University of Akron from 1971 to 1984, chair of the Department of Mechanical and Civil Engineering at the University of Evansville from 1985 to 1995 and has been Dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science since 1995.

Dr. Gerhart has written three books and more than 40 scholarly papers and reports. He has been principal investigator on grants from the United States Army, NASA, the National Science Foundation, and the Electric Power Research Institute. He has served as a consultant to several firms in the power and process industries.

Dr. Gerhart is a Life Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and served as ASME’s vice-President for Performance Test Codes from 1998 to 2001. He was awarded the ASME’s Performance Test Codes Gold Medal in 1993 and the Silver Beaver award from the Boy Scouts of America in 2001.

Donald Jones

Mr. Donald Jones

Vice President/Marketing and Communications

Ray Lutgring

Dr. Ray Lutgring

Dean of Arts and Sciences
Hyde Hall 222

John Mosbo

Dr. John Mosbo

Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs

Dr. John Mosbo has over thirty years of experience in higher education as a full-time tenured professor, department head, college dean, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost and Special Advisor to a Chancellor at state and private universities, and an American university in the United Arab Emirates.|A chemist by training, Dr. Mosbo received his baccalaureate degree from the University of Northern Colorado and his PhD from Iowa State University. Dr. Mosbo joined UE on July 1, 2011 as Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs.

Steve Standifird

Dr. Steve Standifird

Schroeder Family Dean/School of Business Administration

Dr. Stephen Standifird is the Schroeder Family Dean at the Schroeder School of Business. This role represents something of a homecoming for Dr. Standifird, who spent his youth in Evansville. A graduate of Bosse High School, Standifird| earned the B.S. in chemical engineering from Purdue University before earning the Master of Business Administration degree from Northwestern University, and a Ph.D. in Organization Studies from the University of Oregon.

Standifird began his higher education career as a teaching fellow at the University of Oregon, before serving as a visiting lecturer at the Academy of Entrepreneurship and Management in Warsaw, Poland. After a stint as an assistant professor of management at Western Washington University, Standifird went to the University of San Diego in 2003 as an assistant professor of management. He was promoted to associate professor in 2006, and has continued to teach in that capacity while serving first as the director of undergraduate programs for the university’s School of Business, then as the school's associate dean of graduate and professional programs.

During his career in higher education, Standifird has been published more than two dozen times in nearly as many publications, and haspresented at numerous conferences. He continues to serve on the editorial boards of the Journal of Management Inquiry and Corporate Reputation Review. He has also been recognized several times for his work as an educator, including being named a finalist for the SBA Outstanding Undergraduate Business Educator two consecutive years. Dr. Standifird is a 2012 graduate from Leadership Evansville. He current serves on the board of directors for the Growth Alliance of Greater Evansville.

John Stanley

Mr. John Stanley

Carson Center 101

Lynn Penland

Dr. Lynn Penland

Dean/Education & Health Sciences
Graves Hall 301

Dean of the College of Education and Health Sciences since 1998, Penland has a B.S. in elementary education, and an M.A. and Ph.D. in health education, all from the Ohio State University. She has been at the University of Evansville for 30 years.| Prior to that her career included teaching at the Ohio State University and University of Hawaii and serving as a public health educator for the Tennessee Department of Public Health.

Jeff Wolf

Mr. Jeff Wolf

Vice President/Fiscal Affairs & Administration
Olmsted Hall 214